

PRESS RELEASE

Lombard Bank Malta p.l.c. - 2013 Annual General Meeting

On Thursday 25 April 2013, the shareholders of Lombard Bank Malta p.l.c convened at the Exchange Buildings in Valletta to hold their Annual General Meeting. During the meeting the results of Lombard Bank Group for the financial year ended 31 December 2012 were presented and approved.

The Chairman, Christian Lemmerich, addressed shareholders and explained that the Board and Management of the Bank considered the performance of the Group to be a satisfactory one. He further explained that the Bank continued to pursue its strategy of maintaining a strong capital base and high level of liquidity, while retaining its prudent policies both in lending as well as in its treasury operations. A post tax Return on Equity of 7.5% was considered satisfactory, more so in an environment of significantly low interest yields.

Taking into account the economic climate and general business uncertainty, the Group performed well with profits before tax of €9.4 million. Shareholders' Funds increased by 3.5% while Total Assets of the Group stood at €575 million.

The solid financial fundamentals of the Group were confirmed by the Bank's Capital Adequacy Ratio of 19%, well above the required 8% as per Basel II. The Loan to Deposit Ratio was managed within prudential limits and, at the end of the financial year, stood at 69%.

This was to be the last general meeting to be addressed by Mr. Lemmerich who did not seek re-election after having served as chairman of Lombard Bank uninterruptedly for 14 years. During the Annual General Meeting a vote of thanks was unanimously adopted thanking Mr. Lemmerich for his long commitment and dedication to the Bank. He will be succeeded by Michael C. Bonello, former Governor of the Central Bank of Malta.

All other resolutions presented to the Meeting were adopted, which included the declaration of a final Gross Dividend of €0.12 per share amounting to a total distribution of €4.3 million as well as a bonus share issue of one share for every ten held by shareholders who are on the Company's Register of Shareholders as at 27 May 2013.

The Board of Directors of the Bank is composed of Sophoklis Argyrou, Michael C. Bonello (Chairman), Graham A. Fairclough, Kimon Palamidis, Joseph Said, Christos Stylianides and Michael Zammit.